2017, June 12

Rep. Rodolfo “Rudy” C. Fariñas stressed that the House of Representatives will not recognize the Court of Appeals’ (CA) order to release the six Ilocos Norte government employees currently detained at the Batasang Pambansa complex in Quezon City. Mr. Fariñas explained during a press conference at the Laoag City Hall, that the petition for the issuance of a writ of habeas corpus filed in behalf of the detained employees— Pedro Agcaoili, Provincial Planning and Development Office chairperson; Josephine Calajate, provincial treasurer; Eden Battulayan, provincial accountant; Encarnacion Gaor, Provincial Treasurer’s Office staff; Genedine Jambaro, Provincial Treasurer’s Office staff; and Evangeline Tabulog, provincial budget officer—is not applicable to their current situation. The writ for habeas corpus usually pertains only to illegal detention; and as Mr. Fariñas asserted, the House can legally detain witnesses or resource persons, who, in their view, are not telling the truth by citing them in contempt.

You may also like

2019, February 5

2018, December 21

2018, September 24-26