2011, February

BATAC CITY – Officials here welcomed with jubilation the latest Supreme Court decision upholding the cityhood status of 16 municipalities across the country.

In a vote of 7-6 with two abstentions, the high court held that the 16 enabling laws passed by the House of Representatives did not violate any provision of the Constitution and Republic Act No. 9009 (the Local Government Code).

In its original ruling on the LCP petition issued on November 18, 2008, the high court voted 6-5 declaring the cityhood laws unlawful.

On April 28, 2009, the high court upheld its November 2008 ruling with a split vote of 6-6, at the same time denying a second motion for reconsideration filed by the towns that lost their city status.

On December 22, 2009, the high court decided that a deadlocked vote did not reflect the majority of its members and thus restored the validity of the cityhood laws that converted the 16 towns to cities.

It once again reversed itself on August 24, 2010. Voting 7-6 with two abstentions, the high court reinstated its 2008 decision, stripping the 16 cities of their city status.

You may also like

2019, February 5

2018, December 21

2018, September 24-26