Browsing category Chronology


Enriqueta de Peralta of Dingras writes patriotic poems in Iloco, during the first decade of American colonial rule known as the era of suppressed nationalism. [Quindoza, NHI]

1901, May 1

General Manuel Tinio and his troops surrender to General J. Franklin Bell at Sinait, the last general in the Ilocos to do so and two months after Aguinaldo had capitulated. [Ochosa, Spence]

1901, April 26

Fr. Aglipay surrenders to Col. William S. McCaskey at Laoag. (He had been convinced to do so in a conference in Dingras with Dr Telesforo Ejercito, a personal friend of Aglipay but now an emissary of the Federal Party.) [Ochosa]

1900, December 10

Birth of Jose Garvida Flores, prolific poet in Iloco, in Bangui. (Eventually, he became the editor-in-chief of Pangadang, an Iloco newspaper published together with Senator Santiago Fonacier. His patriotic poem “Filipinas” is sung during the yearly celebration of Independence Day, and during ceremonies of the Iglesia Filipina Independiente. After a lingering illness, he died in

1900, July

Renewed guerilla activities by the Tinio Brigade in Badoc and Paoay and Aglipay’s forces in Batac move Captain Evans to recommend to his superiors “that all male inhabitants of the barrios of Batac, Badoc and Paoay be declared as War Rebels.” [Ochosa]

1900, April 25

General Gregorio Aglipay’s forces clash with Captain Dodd of the 3rd Cavalry again in Mabaleng, Batac. An advance guard of women provides the first line of defense, behind them are the bolomen and then the riflemen. In retaliation, the Americans burn the town of Batac; many are killed and few houses are saved. The Americans

1900, April 17

Americans establish a detachment in the old convento of Laoag. Don Jose Ver, mayor of Sarrat, leads about 200 or 500 of his townmates in an attack against the Americans in Laoag, under the rallying cry of “Rit-ritemon cayong!” (Rip the fence apart!). (Planned by Aglipay, the raid should have been a simultaneous attack from